ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

January 10, 2023

The Honorable Matthew Morgan Maryland House of Delegates 310 House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: St. Mary's County – Transfer of Employees of the Child Support Unit of the State's Attorney Office for St. Mary's County to the Child Support Administration of the Department of Human Services

Dear Chairman Morgan:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County support the request of the State's Attorney's Office to support legislation pursuant to §10-117 of the *Family Law Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland* to transfer all employees of the Child Support Unit of the Office of the State's Attorney for St. Mary's County to the Child Support Administration of the Department of Human Services as requested by State's Attorney, Jaymi Sterling.

We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe this legislation will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely, COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2023/006

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Brian Crosby Delegate Todd Morgan Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, Interim County Administrator/County Attorney John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 \*1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • <u>www.stmarysmd.com</u> • CSMC@STMARYSMD.COM